Northwest Rural Public Power District is located in the northern part of the Nebraska Panhandle, where we are your Touchstone Energy partner. We provide electricity and many other quality products and services to customers in Northwest Nebraska. Our service area covers the Oglala National Grasslands and the national forest and dryland wheat areas in the West, to the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, pine trees and rugged rock terrain in the North, to the sandhills and cattle ranches to the East and to the irrigated farmland to the South.

Our main office is located in Hay Springs, a town of 650 population with a high school, grade school, medical clinic, parks, swimming pool and much more. A hospital and four-year college are within 20 minutes of Hay Springs.

Employees: 20
Power supplier: Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association
Date system organized: November 28, 1945
Board meetings held: 4th Thursday each month
NRECA/RUS identification #: 28-099
Radio frequencies: 158.205 (transmit)
153.500 (receive)
153.635 (emergency)
Total square miles served: 3,500
Counties served: Dawes, north half of Sheridan and part of northwest Cherry
Total residential customers: 1,365
Total connected meters: 3,307
Miles of line: 1,960
Irrigation wells served: 633
Total horsepower of wells: 39,556